Artist Foundation Awards over $60,000 to San Antonio Artists




The Artist Foundation of San Antonio announced the 2011 award winners Monday night at Coates Chapel, Southwest School of Art. Founded by arts advocate Patricia Pratchett and local artist Bettie Ward in 2005 to identify and encourage local artists, this is the sixth year that grants have been given out fund new works. The grants are monetary awards ranging from $5,000 to $7,500. To date, over $400,000 in art grants have been awarded to local artists. Examples of this year's artists' work can be seen at

Here are the 2011 winners:

George Cortes Award in Classical Singing—Eric Schmidt

Literary Arts Award—Nicole Provencher

Visual Arts Awards:

Rick Liberto Award for Visual Arts –Kelly O’Connor

Graham Weston Award for Visual Arts—Justin Boyd

Friends of Chuck Ramirez Award for Visual Arts—Michael Menchaca

Original Production Award—Elijiah Rios

Music Composition Award—Joël Dilley

Choreography Award—Stephanie Ramirez

Tobin Award for Costume Design—Lisa Perello

Tobin Award for Set Design—Allan Ross

Media Arts Award—Phillip Vargas, Jr.

Tobin Grand Prize for Artistic Excellence—Phillip Vargas, Jr.

Above, David Shelton giving the Rick Liberto Award for Visual Arts to Kelley O'Connor.

San Antonio Current works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of San Antonio and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep San Antonio's true free press free.