SA Film Festival winners announced


Our congrats to local filmmaker Sam Lerma, who won the Best San Antonio Filmmaker prize at the San Antonio Film Festival for his short Lilia.

Here's the complete list of jury winners:

1.  SAFILM Grand Prize

Portion (2012)

Dir. Gisberg Bermúdez

2.  Jury Prize Best Performance

David Diaan for Mossadegh (2012)

3.  Jury Prize Best Narrative Short

Crescendo (2012)

Dir. Alonso Álvarez

4.  Jury Prize Best Documentary Short

Inocente (2012)

Dir. Sean Fine, Andrea Nix  

5. Jury Prize Best Animated Short

World’s Apart (2012)

Dir. Michael Zachary Huber

6.  Jury Prize Best College Filmmaker

Children of the Air (2012)

Dir. Damian Horan

7.  Jury Prize Best High School Filmmaker

Cardiac Arrest (2012)

Dir. Maqui Gaona

8.  Jury Prize Best San Antonio Filmmaker

Sam Lerma for Lilia (2012)

9. SANTIKOS AWARD for outstanding contribution to a film

Bruno Bichir for his performance in Portion (2012)

Audience awards to be announced soon.

We’re keeping you informed…
...and it’s what we love to do. From local politics and culture to national news that hits close to home, San Antonio Current has been keeping San Antonio informed for years.

It’s never been more important to support local news sources. A free press means accountability and a well-informed public, and we want to keep our unique and independent reporting available for many, many years to come.

If quality journalism is important to you, please consider a donation to San Antonio Current. Every reader contribution is valuable and so appreciated, and goes directly to support our coverage of critical issues and neighborhood culture. Thank you.