Rosemary Catacalos Named 2013 Texas Poet Laureate




The Texas Commission on the Arts (TCA) has announced the state lege has named San Antonio native Rosemary Catacalos 2013 Texas Poet Laureate. Catacalos’ poems are published widely in high school and college textbooks; her acclaimed collection, Again for the First Time (1984, Tooth of Times, Santa Fe), winner of the Texas Institute of Letters Poetry Prize, will be republished in a special 30th year edition by Wings Press to be released July 1. Catacolos was director of Gemini Ink from 2003-2012, and is a Dobie-Paisono fellow, a Stegner fellow, and has received many other honors.

Also named are 2013 Texas State Musician Craig Hella Johnson of Austin, Texas State Two-Dimensional Artist Jim Woodson of Fort Worth, and Texas State Three-Dimensional Artist Joseph Havel of Houston.  The 2014 appointees include Texas Poet Laureate Dean Young of Austin, Texas State Musician Flaco Jimenez of San Antonio, Texas State Two-Dimensional Artist Julie Speed of Marfa, and Texas State Three-Dimensional Artist Ken Little of San Antonio.