2012 Tango World Cup winners announced


The winners for Argentina's 2012 Tango World Cup, which attracted 500,000 fans in Aug. 14-28, were announced today. Uruguay's María Noel Sciuto and Argentina's Cristian Sosa won in the stage category.

In the "salón" category (which pays tribute to the style danced at the early tango milongas), Paola Sanz and Facundo de la Cruz Gómez Palavecino (both from Argentina) won first prize. This is their performance after being announced as the winners (dancing starts at 4:07).

Twenty couples from four countries participated in the competition's tenth annual edition.

San Antonio Current works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of San Antonio and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep San Antonio's true free press free.