Music » Music Stories & Interviews

2012 Tango World Cup winners announced


The winners for Argentina's 2012 Tango World Cup, which attracted 500,000 fans in Aug. 14-28, were announced today. Uruguay's María Noel Sciuto and Argentina's Cristian Sosa won in the stage category.

In the "salón" category (which pays tribute to the style danced at the early tango milongas), Paola Sanz and Facundo de la Cruz Gómez Palavecino (both from Argentina) won first prize. This is their performance after being announced as the winners (dancing starts at 4:07).

Twenty couples from four countries participated in the competition's tenth annual edition.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.