Arts » Arts Stories & Interviews




Awright! We at the Current hear tell that San Anto has reason to be pleased at the newly announced jury members for the 2009 Hunting Prize. They are: Chiyo Ishikawa, deputy director of art, Seattle Art Museum; Suzanne Folds McCullagh, curator of prints and drawings, the Art Institute of Chicago; and Kate Green, independent curator and former curator at Artpace. Respresent, Kate!

The $50,000 Hunting Art Prize is the largest annual art award in the country. The recipient will be announced at a May 2 gala in Houston. Past galas, according to past attendees, included large-scale drunkenness, and lots of shrimp.

The Hunting Art Prize is open to any Texas-based artist who is 18 years or older. For more information on the competition, visit

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.