News » San Antonio News

Death To False Metal

Death To False Metal
Composer: Weezer
Conductor: Weezer
Label: DGC Records
Release Date: 2010-11-10
Rated: NONE
Genre: Recording

In concurrence with the Pinkerton re-release, 10 hand-picked tracks spanning Weezer’s career have been re-recorded for the first official rarities collection titled Death to False Metal. The majority of these tracks are forgettable, while a cover of Toni Braxton’s “Unbreak My Heart” is just confusing. The nonsensical lyrics of “I’m a Robot,” “Autopilot,” and “The Odd Couple” would be endearing on a Nickelodeon cartoon soundtrack, but here they are grating and inspire a game of how long you can hold out without hitting the skip button. “Trampoline,” a 1998-era gem, sparkles in comparison and would have found a better home on the Pinkerton re-release. The angst-heavy “Everyone” harkens back to ’90s grunge and shows off some of Pat Wilson’s drumming flair but comes across as disingenuous. If planning to buy this collection, go for the iTunes version, as it includes the superb bonus track “Mykel and Carli,” a b-side from the Blue Album.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.