Arts » Arts Stories & Interviews

Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley, Sequel to Pride and Prejudice, Opens This Weekend at Classic Theatre of San Antonio

by

comment
CLASSIC THEATRE OF SAN ANTONIO
  • Classic Theatre of San Antonio
This playful sequel to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice opens on the tableau of Christmas 1815, a few years after Elizabeth Bennet wed Fitzwilliam Darcy (sorry, we’re not gonna spoiler-tag a 200-year-old novel, y’all).

Feeling left out as her other sisters find love, bookish middle-daughter Mary Bennet travels to the Darcys’ Pemberley estate for familial Christmas festivities. Likewise, Mr. Darcy’s shy cousin Arthur de Bourgh makes his own trek to Pemberley for the holiday, which, unbeknownst to him, will lead to a fateful meeting.

Fans of Pride and Prejudice will be well-rewarded, as the play is chock full of allusions to Austen’s seminal work, but if you haven’t read the book (or have, and just don’t remember it), this yuletide romance stands on its own. Kelly Roush directs the Classic Theatre’s production.

$18-$33, 8pm Fri Nov. 30-Sat Dec. 1, 3pm Sun Dec. 2 through Dec. 23, The Classic Theatre of San Antonio, 1924 Fredericksburg Road, (210) 589-8450, classictheatre.org.

Get our top picks for the best events in San Antonio every Thursday morning. Sign up for our Events Newsletter.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.