News » San Antonio News

SA Current Awarded Four Lone Star Press Nods, Read the Winning Articles Here




We're happy to share that the Houston Press Club has awarded the Current four Lone Star awards. We're very proud of both Greg Harman, our former editor in chief, and Michael Barajas, an outstanding journalist who until recently worked as our staff writer. Congratulations, guys!

Print Journalist of the Year

First Place: Deon Daugherty, Houston Business Journal

Second Place: Michael BarajasSan Antonio Current

Third Place: Jim Molony, The Pasadena Citizen

Print News or Feature Story

First Place: Michael C. Duke, Jewish Herald Voice, “A Peachy Cobbler”

Second Place: Michael Barajas, San Antonio Current, “Why Have Jail Suicides Soared Under Sheriff Ortiz?”

Third Place: Michael Duke, Jewish Herald Voice, “Hate Helps Fund Hope"

Print Investigative Reporting

First Place: Michael Barajas, San Antonio Current, “Freeing the San Antonio Four”

Comments: An exhaustively researched and harrowing story that seems to have struck a nerve in the community.

Second Place: Deon Daugherty, Collin Eaton & Molly Ryan, Houston Business Journal, “A Look Inside Houston’s Top Public Companies”

Print General Commentary/Criticism

First Place: Greg Harman, San Antonio Current, “Nuclear Waste Dump Will Put Texas Back in Feds Sights”

Second Place: Jim Molony, Pasadena Citizen, “Mother’s Day Recalls Dress Rehearsal”


Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.