Arts » Arts Stories & Interviews

SA Film Festival winners announced


Our congrats to local filmmaker Sam Lerma, who won the Best San Antonio Filmmaker prize at the San Antonio Film Festival for his short Lilia.

Here's the complete list of jury winners:

1.  SAFILM Grand Prize

Portion (2012)

Dir. Gisberg Bermúdez

2.  Jury Prize Best Performance

David Diaan for Mossadegh (2012)

3.  Jury Prize Best Narrative Short

Crescendo (2012)

Dir. Alonso Álvarez

4.  Jury Prize Best Documentary Short

Inocente (2012)

Dir. Sean Fine, Andrea Nix  

5. Jury Prize Best Animated Short

World’s Apart (2012)

Dir. Michael Zachary Huber

6.  Jury Prize Best College Filmmaker

Children of the Air (2012)

Dir. Damian Horan

7.  Jury Prize Best High School Filmmaker

Cardiac Arrest (2012)

Dir. Maqui Gaona

8.  Jury Prize Best San Antonio Filmmaker

Sam Lerma for Lilia (2012)

9. SANTIKOS AWARD for outstanding contribution to a film

Bruno Bichir for his performance in Portion (2012)

Audience awards to be announced soon.

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.