Live Music

The Brandenburg Concertos

When: Sun., March 1, 7 p.m. 2015

In one of the all-time classical music snubs, J.S. Bach presented a series of six concertos to the Margrave of Brandenburg in 1721. Bach never received thanks or payment for the works, but they are now remembered as the finest Baroque pieces around — a distinction that unfortunately does not pay. This program showcases three of the six concertos: No. 3 featuring strings, No. 5 featuring violin, flute and harpsichord, and No. 1 featuring oboes and horns, with conductor Akiko Fujimoto, flautist Martha Long, violinist Eric Gratz and harpsichordist Gösta Funck.

Price: $25-$30

Buy Tickets