News » San Antonio News

The Twilight Saga: New Moon Original Soundtrack

The Twilight Saga: New Moon Original Soundtrack
Composer: Various Artists
Conductor: Various Artists
Label: Atlantic
Release Date: 2009-10-28
Rated: NONE
Genre: Recording

We never thought of Death Cab for Cutie as vampire music, but the band’s maudlin “Meet Me on the Equinox” provides an appropriately dreary intro on this soundtrack to New Moon, the sequel to last year’s hit vampire love story, Twilight. “Everything, everything ends,” sings frontman Ben Gibbard, sounding particularly pensive. It makes sense that there are plenty of goth- and electronica-inspired songs here, but the best tunes are the gentler ones. Anya Marina’s wispy “Satellite Heart” is a beautiful ballad; so are Bon Iver and St. Vincent’s sparse “Rosyln” and Thom Yorke’s moody “Hearing Damage.” While Muse hams it up a bit too much on the remix of “I Belong to You” and Hurricane Bell’s “Monsters” is way too obvious, the album is consistently solid. Even the Killers sound inspired on “A White Demon Love Song,” a track they wrote exclusively for the soundtrack.
— Jeff Niesel

Support Local Journalism.
Join the San Antonio Current Press Club

Local journalism is information. Information is power. And we believe everyone deserves access to accurate independent coverage of their community and state. Our readers helped us continue this coverage in 2020, and we are so grateful for the support.

Help us keep this coverage going in 2021. Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing membership pledge, your support goes to local-based reporting from our small but mighty team.

Join the San Antonio Press Club for as little as $5 a month.