First Four EPs

First Four EPs
Release Date: 2010-12-01
Rated: NONE
Genre: Recording

OFF! just might be your father’s punk band, newly formed in 2010. Original Black Flag and Circle Jerks lead singer Keith Morris heads this amalgamation of 1980s California punk rock, joined by guitarist Dimitri Coats of Burning Brides, bassist Steven McDonald of Red Kross and drummer Mario Rubalcaba of Rocket from the Crypt. Despite being a collection of four separate releases (available in a bad-ass box set of 7” vinyls featuring album art by Raymond Pettibon), with nearly every track coming in at under a minute and a half, the 16-song release flies by in just over 18 minutes. Yet OFF! manages to pack a punch of Morris’ distinctive vocals, sniping social commentary, and pulsing hooks within that window. Though the members are all industry vets by now, there’s not a hint of slickness to the raw and primal recordings. Punk music like this isn’t made too often these days, and OFF! waves its pedigree in the face of the lily-soft pop punkers who have stood on its shoulders.