The Current Wins Two National Awards


Happy Sunday. We won some shit.



Last night, at the annual conference for the Association of Alternative Newsmedia, the winners of the 2014 AAN awards were announced. We were delighted to learn that former staff writer Mike Barajas took the gold in the Feature Story (circulation under 50,000, as are all the other award categories mentioned in this post) category and food and nightlife editor Jessica Elizarraras also won first-place in the Food Writing category.

Also, big shout-outs to our sister papers Orlando Weekly and Cleveland Scene. OW's arts and dining editor Jessica Bryce Young won first-place for Arts Criticism (here, here and here); editor Erin Sullivan earned an honorable mention nod for Arts Feature (for her coverage of the SeaWorld/Blackfish controversy, some of which we published last August); and associate editor Ashley Belanger also received an honorable mention for Music Criticism (here, here and here). Scene's news department took home second place in Investigative Reporting.

Congratulations to the winners! It's a pleasure to work with such a talented, determined group!



San Antonio Current works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of San Antonio and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep San Antonio's true free press free.