Texas Department of Transportation
Don't make them say they told you so.
It may be a dreaded time of the year for Texas drivers, but the state apparently sees no other way around it.
Starting today and for the next two weeks, the Texas Department of Transportation will be conducting its annual "click it or ticket"
Beyond the catchy moniker, the message is that this is serious business. Facing hefty fines is the least of your concerns if you get into a crash not wearing your seat belt, TXDOT warned.
"It only takes a few seconds make sure everyone is your vehicle is buckled up," John Barton, the department's deputy executive director, said in a news release.
"Do it for yourself and for your loved ones, or else risk being fined or even losing a loved one," Barton added.
It seems to happen much more often than people realize.
According to TXDOT, nearly half of the more than 3,500 people that died in crashes across the state last year weren't wearing seat belts.
In terms of the crackdown, unrestrained drivers caught can be fined as much as $250, plus court costs. All passengers, whether in the front or in the back seat, are also supposed to put on seat belts or face $200 fines.