Democrats Castro, Cuellar, Doggett hang on to their U.S. House seats representing San Antonio


U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro - SCREEN CAPTURE / C-SPAN
  • Screen Capture / C-SPAN
  • U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro
The hotly contested U.S. House races in Texas' 21st and 23rd districts — both of which include part of San Antonio — remained too tough to call a little after 9:30 p.m.

However, San Antonio's three other congressional races played out largely as expected, with Democratic incumbents wrapping up wins in each. Here's how they played out, according to Decision Desk HQ:

20th District (San Antonio)

Joaquin Castro, Democrat (Incumbent) 65.3%
Mauro Garza, Republican 32.7%

28th District (San Antonio, Laredo, South Texas)

Henry Cuellar, Democrat (Incumbent) 58.2%
Sandra Whitten, Republican 39.3%

35th District (San Antonio and Austin)
Lloyd Doggett, Democrat (Incumbent) 69.1%
Jenny Garcia Sharon, Republican 26.7%

Stay on top of San Antonio news and views. Sign up for our Weekly Headlines Newsletter.

San Antonio Current works for you, and your support is essential.

Our small but mighty local team works tirelessly to bring you high-quality, uncensored news and cultural coverage of San Antonio and beyond.

Unlike many newspapers, ours is free – and we'd like to keep it that way, because we believe, now more than ever, everyone deserves access to accurate, independent coverage of their community.

Whether it's a one-time acknowledgement of this article or an ongoing pledge, your support helps keep San Antonio's true free press free.